Coral Sea Islands Territory

Population: 4 (2018)

Time Zone: GMT+10

Currency: N/A​



The Coral Sea Islands Territory is an external territory of Australia and a Commonwealth associated territory. The territory is made up of a group of islands east of Queensland, Australia. The island consists generally of scattered coral reefs and support a substantial population of seabirds.


The territory is mostly comprised of national nature reserves. The only inhabitants are the Meteorological Bureau staff operating the weather station on Willis Island. Therefore, there is no economic activity in the area, apart from some commercial fishing.

Read more about Coral Sea Islands.